Albuquerque DWI Lawyer
DWI Laws in New Mexico
A DWI is an offense committed by a driver who operated their vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or narcotics.
The Legal Limit
In New Mexico, the legal Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) limit for adults is 0.08%. If you’re under the age of 21, the BAC limit is 0.02%. Commercial vehicle drivers are limited to a BAC level of 0.04%. However, you can still be convicted of a DWI, even if your BAC level is below the legal limit if the prosecutor can prove drugs or alcohol impaired your ability to drive. Luckily, hiring an experienced attorney can help you avoid a criminal conviction and harsh penalties from the state.
The Penalties For a DWI in New Mexico
The penalties for a DWI in New Mexico depend on the circumstances of the arrest, and the severity of punishments do escalate upon repeat offenses.
1st Offense: A first time DWI offender faces up to $500 in criminal fines, a 90-day jail sentence, license revocation for a minimum of six months, and a maximum of up to one year. A conviction may also result in mandatory traffic school enrollment, 24 hours of community service, and the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) and its associated costs.
2nd Offense: Second-time offenders risk having their license suspended for two years, mandatory enrollment in traffic school, 48 hours of community service, and an IID installment for two years. A conviction may also result in a maximum sentence of one year in jail, a criminal fine of up to $1,000, and up to five years probation.
3rd Offense: Third-time DWI offenders are subject to a minimum of 30 days in jail and a maximum sentence of one year. Offenders may also face three-year license revocation and a criminal fine ranging from $750-$1,000. Additional punishments include mandatory traffic school, IID installment for three years, 96 hours of community service, and up to five years probation.
4th Offense: Fourth and subsequent offenses are considered felony charges with enhanced penalties. For starters, you face 6-18 months in possible jail time, up to $5,000 in criminal fines, and permanent license revocation and IID installment.
The Law Office of Attorney Rachel Walker Serves Clients in New Mexico
Impaired driving is one of the most prosecuted crimes in New Mexico. Don’t let your charge turn into a conviction! If you are facing DWI charges in New Mexico, it is critical that you speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney immediately. Trying to resolve your case alone can be extremely challenging and may even do more harm than good.
At the Law Office of Attorney Rachel Walker, we will handle the evidence of your case to build a robust DWI defense. Fight your case with the help of experienced attorney Rachel Walker and call today to schedule a free consultation.